Fight or Flight: The Latter, Please

Zombie

To see or dream that you are a zombie, suggests that you are physically and/or emotionally detached from people and situations that are currently surrounding you. You are feeling out of touch. Alternatively, it may indicate that you are feeling dead inside and are simply going through the motions of daily living.


By now I’m sure it’s no surprise that the semi-dead was the focus of my dream yet again.  Of course, now that I try to recall it, most of the details remain fuzzy.

Diagram: Can you figure it out?

Diagram: Can you figure it out?

If it’s still confusing, here are the facts:  I walked through the back door with a large group of people.  Most I didn’t recognize, and those I did, were acquaintances from my past.  When we entered the unlit home, someone in the group told us that the house is rumored to be haunted; particularly, the bedroom closest to us. The windows met at the walls closet to us (represented in blue.)  There was a door with small steps on the wall closet the back door. None of the rooms were furnished, and by its condition, no one had resided there in quite a long time.

A young boy in our party suddenly walked toward the bedroom, as if being beckoned by an inaubible whisper.  His mother tried to go after him, but we stopped her once we saw a dim light emerging from within.  The boy continued toward the door without hesitation.  Immediately after he stepped inside, 1800’s-style furniture appeared and a classical music could be faintly heard.  From deep within the room, another boy appeared.  He was raggedly dressed, and looked extremely pale.  The boys extended their arms, and once their hands touched the room turned black, the furniture gone, and the music muted.

Banging came from the front door before the horror that transpired could fully sink in.  Across hallway, we saw a swarm of new-age zombies breaking in.  Those brave enough ran through the hallway toward the door to do anything to delay their entry.  I was among them.  As I ran through the hall, I noticed a red door on the other bedroom wall.  It didn’t have steps in front like the other door, it just hovered in the wall.  Closed.  I found it stranger than the zombie hoard outside.  When we got at the front door, their force had strengthened.

…Somehow I got away.  I was driving down an alley in my car.  It looked like my car except that it was really low to the ground, and I had a backseat.  The plan was to pick up two acquaintances of mine, and make our way out of town.  I stopped the car when I saw them approach from the left.  When they got to the front of my car, two girls came from the right of the road as if waiting to meet me.  I didn’t know who they were, but they were under the assumption that I was there to help them.  I yelled that I only have room for three people, and that they need to hurry up.  The four got into an argument directly to the right of my car, but the car was so low that I couldn’t see their faces– just their torsos.  A wild scuffle took place, and I couldn’t decipher if zombies had attacked, or if one of them turn out to be one.  I decided not to find out and slammed on the gas, leaving them behind.

Yes, I’m a survivor.  Or “dead inside.”


Leave a Reply

