A Trip to Venice, California Style

Yesterday, I explored Venice Beach, and soaked in it’s diverse crowd.  If you haven’t been already, it’s a fantastic place to people-watch, and grab some good, old-fashioned junk food.  Unfortunately, the sweltering heat I mentioned from my previous summer post is momentarily AWOL, but I suppose that’s the charm of California’s temperamental weather.  The following are my chronicles of the infamous Venice Beach California.  Soak it in.

 

One of the last surviving pay phones in Los Angeles.  Try fitting that into your purse!

 

Loved the colors of these Baja hoodies (have you seen Proenza Schouler’s take on this cultural classic?) At the end of the day, I came home with one.

 

These wool blankets are super warm, but a total rip-off at $32.

 

Feathers are all the rage this season.  I had to try really hard to keep from purchasing those earrings.

 

Thanks to Kanye West and Ke$ha, some of these shades are coming back.  Personally, I’ll pass.

 

This display was awesome!  All hand-painted, too.

 

The bf and I got a kick out of this.

 

Pet ducks bathing.  Apparently they are Venice’s equivalent of pigeons.

 

Tons of local artwork.  Some interesting and some creepy.

 

 

 

 

 

This is my new mantra.

 

 

 

 

 

A panhandler makes things interesting.  It may not look like it, but everyone involved got a good laugh.

 

 

 

This guy stopped us to listen to his demo.  After posing for a picture, he said, “One day that’ll be worth something.” For his sake, I hope he’s right.

 

It’s so obvious that the dog is the bigger Lakers fan.

 

 

The Fruit Lady.  I liked her, and so did those people buying her merchandise.

 

I don’t think he made that shot.

 

Mongols at Venice.  I didn’t get a shot of it, but LAPD had them awkwardly surrounded in the parking lot.  Preventative measures, I assume.

 

This dad just caught a mackerel for his ecstatic kids!

 

 

 

 

 

Wonder how long it took to collect all those stickers.  Trophy items, perhaps?

 

Not your average lemonade stand.

 

I opted for ice cream.  Spumoni was so delicious, but the bf’s cappuccino ice cream fell off his cone. 😦

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

