New Workout Obsession: Vinyasa Yoga

I never thought I’d say it — being an avid cardio, high-impact fitness lover — but I have a new workout crush.

Vinyasa yoga, also known as vinyasa flow, is a type of yoga that involves breath-synchronized movement.

Vinyasa Yoga

This yoga workout takes you from one pose to another, which is where the “flow” aspect comes about.

I have a temporary membership with a yoga studio called YogaWorks near my workplace, and have been going four times a week (still trying to fit in my beloved cardio kickboxing class.)

I’ve done yoga in the past, and consider myself a level 2, but I definitely need to work on my handstands.

Vinyasa Flow

I’ve also tried other forms of yoga that incorporate the vinyasa style, like Bikram yoga. Bikram is also called hot yoga, wherein the room temperature is increased to over 100 degrees and classes are usually 90 minutes.

There’s no question it makes you sweat, but I don’t think it’s for me.

I’m sticking to regular vinyasa yoga. I even got a new yoga mat from Lululemon.

Lululemon The Mat

It’s called “The Mat,” and I chose it because it’s supposedly grippy, non-slip (which was a big problem with my previous mat) and has enough cushion for my bad knees.

I’ve only had it for a week, so you can expect a review after a month or so!

I plan on finding a local yoga studio that’s closer to home, so I can practice over the weekends, too.

Well, that’s all for now!

Namaste.

Suite 707

4 comments

  1. I hear you with the bikram yoga. I just think I’d hate it either because of sweating excessively or dehydration.

    Vinyasa yoga on the other hand, is something I need to get back into. I used to do it pretty often, but I’ve gotten out of the habit.

    Anyway, have fun with the new obsession! 🙂

    1. Thanks for the encouragement! I’m looking to get serious with my practice, so I’ve been researching local yoga studios (I never knew how much of a monetary commitment yoga was! I’ve been using a Groupon thus far.)

      I hope you get a chance to get back into your practice. I’d love to hear your experience back. 🙂

  2. I’ve been practicing yoga since the early 90’s but just started Vinyasa a few years ago. Like you, I was hooked. Have fun!

    1. Thanks! I can’t get enough of it; I almost feel like I should let my body rest at least a day a week, though.

      Glad to hear from another yoga fan. 🙂

Leave a Reply

