BB Cream Review: Skin 79 Triple Functions & VIP Gold Collection

Skin 79I’ve been delaying this post for far too long with the hopes of making a video review of the Skin 79 Triple Functions BB Cream & Skin 79 VIP Gold Collection BB Cream  instead of a written review.

Well, I still haven’t found a chance to do a video review, but I felt it necessary to check off this BB cream review from the list.

What is BB Cream?

Before going into the nitty-gritty of Skin 79‘s products, you may be wondering: what is BB cream?

BB cream stands for “blemish balm” or “beauty balm.” It is an all-in-one makeup that acts as a moisturizer, primer, foundation,  concealer and sunscreen. Also, many bb cream products claim to have anti-wrinkle and color balancing (read whitening) agents.

The Korean market is responsible for its sudden popularity (very much influenced by the support of Korean actresses) and is rumored to have originated in Germany.

Typically, BB creams only come in one shade, which tends to be very light. However, after a few minutes of oxidation, it is supposed to self-adjust to your natural skin tone.

Why I Tried BB Cream

Um, based on the potential positives — less time getting ready, better coverage, etc. — who WOULDN’T try it?

I have a lot of acne scars and was looking for something with more coverage (currently I use mineral powder makeup.) With the help of BB cream, I was also hoping to get into the habit of putting on makeup everyday.

Admittedly, I was nervous about the whole one universal color thing– I’m very tan compared to my Korean counterparts, so I was skeptical about if the color would adjust enough.

Skin 79 BB Cream

One of the most popular BB cream brands in the market is Skin 79. They have an extensive selection of BB creams to choose from, but I decided to go with Skin 79 Triple Functions (pink bottle) and Skin 79 VIP Gold Collection (silver bottle.)

Skin 79

Here’s what I found!

Skin 79 Triple Functions BB Cream

I really love Skin 79’s packaging. The bottle is very fun looking and the pump is a hygienic way to use the product.

Skin 79 Triple Functions

Against my skin, the product came out as I expected — almost a greyish nude. After about 10 minutes, it adjusted somewhat but I had a bit of my own matched foundation to give myself some color. I looked like Casper.

The texture is heavier than tinted moisturizer but lighter than liquid foundation. It was a bit difficult to spread onto my skin, though. (TIP: make sure to apply a THIN layer– caking it on will look totally unnatural– I learned this the hard way.)

I wore this to work one day, but after about 6 hours of wear, my forehead began to itch. Then, it started to burn. I ignored the sensation, and headed to the gym.

With my mineral makeup, I never had issues working out in my makeup (I know it’s bad to do so, but sometimes you forget) but after cardio kickboxing in the Skin 79 Triple Functions BB cream, I found my forehead had broken out. I had tiny tiny pimples all over my forehead, which started to peel like a sunburn after a few days.

I thought it might’ve been a fluke, so I let my skin rest for a week make-up free, then tried this again. I had the same reaction. I looked at the box and found that it’s heavy on talc and parabens.

PROS: nice packaging, hygienic dispenser, great coverage

CONS: color didn’t match well on my skin, allergy-inducing ingredients

Skin 79 VIP Gold Collection BB Cream

After my experience with the Triple Functions BB cream, I was reluctant (yet, somewhat hopeful) for the Skin 79 VIP Gold Collection.

Skin 79 VIP Gold Collection

This BB cream product boasts ingredients like caviar and gold. How this benefits skin? Who knows.

Upon applying VIP Gold, I noticed that it was not as thick in it’s consistency as Triple Functions. Side by side, however, they look exactly alike.

Photos: Color at application (left), color after oxidation (right)

BB Cream Comparison       BB Cream Oxidized Color

This was a little easier to spread and blend into the skin, which was nice. After applying it, I found it looked exactly like Triple Functions. I still had to apply a separate foundation to get the color right.

After a few hours, I again felt a tingly, burning sensation on my forehead. So, I washed it off immediately. The product still lists talc and parabens as ingredients, but I was in denial and wanted it to work for me.

It didn’t.

PROS: easy to apply, nice packaging, good workable coverage

CONS: had allergic reactions again, didn’t match skin color.

Final Thoughts on Skin 79 BB Cream

In terms of strictly how it looks on my skin, it’s not terrible — not a perfect color match — but my acne scars and redness were visibly concealed.

Skin 79 Triple Functions BB Cream

Photo: Taken with Skin 79 Triple Functions in natural sunlight

 It’s blatantly clear that my skin has an adverse reaction to Skin 79 BB cream products, which is sad because I really wanted to like it.

I purchased the BB creams on Amazon for about $15 each, shipped from a merchant called, Pink Gelee. According to other BB cream users who’ve left reviews on Amazon, there are a lot of knock-offs in the market.

Did I get a bad batch? I’ll never know, cause I won’t stick around to find out again.

Check back soon to read my review of Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream (w/ giveaway!)

Suite 707

Leave a Reply

